The village is a small rural community which was once called ‘Ebenezer’ village. The population at the 2011 census was 492. St. Cynog’s Church has several memorials, including Coomb Chapel, where the Kylsant of Coomb Mansion worshipped. The church is a Grade II listed building. Ebenezer Chapel (Baptist) was built in 1811. Its members used to be baptized by total immersion in the little stream called ‘Afon Cynog’. There are also many standing stones in the village. The War Memorial near the hall commemorates both world wars, and was unveiled by Princess Marie Louise (granddaughter of Queen Victoria). Llangynog Parish is mostly a farming community, which once had nearly seventy farms and three water mills grinding corn.
The hall lies close to the village in quiet and picturesque surroundings, with parking on-site and off-road outside. It was erected in 1922-23, and ever since has been the hub of the community. During WW2 ‘Welcome Home’ concerts were held for soldiers, with entertainment, refreshments and small gifts provided by local people. An exhibition was held in the hall in ‘Heritage’ year, with lots of community memorabilia. Royal occasions are commemorated there, and many local organisations hold events there. Hall rental charges are currently £10 for the first hour, and £5 for each subsequent hour. The maximum seating capacity is about 150. The hall is not currently a registered charity. For more detailed information about the hall and the village, visit our website http://llangynogcarms.cymru/community-of-llangynog/village-hall/
The hall has a large stage area, which can be dismantled to provide more space if required. There is a large kitchen, with fridge, microwave cooker and a full set of crockery and cutlery for large meetings. The hall is fitted with wall heaters throughout, and has toilets for men, women and the disabled. A P.A. system is available for use, as well as a projector and screen for presentations. Wheelchair access is provided at the front and back of the hall.
Llangynog is about six miles south-west of Carmarthen. From the A40 take the turn to Llangynog. Proceed right through the village, and the hall is just before the War Memorial on the left-hand side.
Llangynog Village Hall